Teflon Diamond Standard Awards 2020: open for entries

Teflon non-stick coatings has announced the launch of its Diamond Standard Awards 2020 for amateur chefs of all ages.

Since this national cookery competition launched in 2012, it has become an annual calendar event that recognises excellence by supporting students to achieve their goals of working as chefs. More recently, the contest has broadened to offer non-professional cooks the chance to gain recognition for their cooking ability at home.

The contest has three categories: Keen Young Cook (12-16 years), Aspiring Student Chef (16-19 years) and Keen Home Cook (17 years and over).

Celebrity cook Lesley Waters will chair this year’s judging panel where she will be joined by Simon Boyle, founder of the charity Beyond Food Foundation; James Golding, chef director of The Pig hotel group; and Paul Dayman, chef lecturer at Bournemouth & Poole College.

The winning young cook and student chef will be put forward for a three-year specialised chef’s scholarship, which is arranged by the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts and managed by Bournemouth & Poole College. For the home cook, a luxury hamper of cooking and foodie goodies is up for grabs.

In addition to these prizes, bundles of Teflon non-stick coated cookware and equipment from sponsors cookware brand Circulon and food thermometer supplier Thermapen are awarded as well as cash prizes of up to £500.

Online entries are open and can be submitted individually or via schools and colleges.

The judges will shortlist the online entries to choose 24 Keen Home Cook national finalists, 12 Aspiring Student Chef national finalists and 12 Keen Young Cook national finalists. These finalists will go on to compete at the Keen Young Cook and Aspiring Student Chef National Finals scheduled for February 3 2020 at Bournemouth & Poole College and the Keen Home Cook National Final scheduled for January 29 2020 at Waitrose Cookery School in London.

For more information about the competition and to enter, visit https://www.teflondsa.co.uk/

Last year’s winners were: Keen Young Cook (12-16 years) – Ruby Dyer of Chancellor’s School, Aspiring Student Chef (16-19 years) – Lily Stock of Westminster Kingsway College, and Keen Home Cook (17 years and over) – James Hooper of Plymouth.

Check Also

Quiet Mark partners with Appliance City

Quiet Mark has partnered with Appliance City. As one of the largest independent appliance retailers …